Meyerhoff House

Former Maryland Women's Hospital now Student Dormitory

The Maryland Women's Hospital, now known as the Robert and Jany Meyerhoff House for the Maryland Institute College of Art, was a pioneering medical institution in the late nineteenth century that remained a landmark in Bolton Hill through the 1960s.

When the hospital first opened at John and Lafayette in the early 1880s, it was only the second women's hospital in the nation. The hospital closed in the 1960s when the institution combined with the Presbyterian Eye, Ear and Throat Charity Hospital to form the Greater Baltimore Medical Center in Towson. In 2001, MICA renovated and rehabilitated the building as a dormitory for over 200 students, along with dining facilities, art studios and more.

Images

Women's Hospital of Maryland (1939)

Women's Hospital of Maryland (1939)

Exterior view of Women's Hospital of Maryland. | Source: BG&E Collection, Baltimore Museum of Industry, BGE.12679 View File Details Page

Meyerhoff House (2012)

Meyerhoff House (2012)

Exterior view of the Meyerhoff House. | Source: Baltimore Heritage | Creator: Eli Pousson View File Details Page

Hospital for the Women of Maryland (1914)

Hospital for the Women of Maryland (1914)

Map of the area around the Hospital for the Women of Maryland. | Source: Atlas of Baltimore Maryland, Topographical Survey Commission, Baltimore City Archives, Baltimore City and County Atlases Collection View File Details Page

Street Address:

140 W. Lafayette Avenue, Baltimore, MD 21217 [map]

Cite this Page:

Eli Pousson, “Meyerhoff House,” Explore Baltimore Heritage, accessed June 26, 2017, http://explore.baltimoreheritage.org/items/show/101.

Subjects

comments powered by Disqus

Share this Story