Elisha Tyson's Falls Road House

Originally the summer home of industrialist and abolitionist Elisha Tyson in the early 1800s, 732 Pacific Street is a classic Federal style house built with native granite two feet thick. Among many other accomplishments, Tyson helped finance the very profitable Falls Road Turnpike in 1805 and reportedly established safe houses for runaway slaves along the route.

The building on Pacific Street was later owned by the Mount Vernon Mill Company and used as a superintendent’s house for the mill complex. Robyn Lyles and Mark Thistle (also a Baltimore Heritage board member) purchased the house in 2005 and finished renovations in 2009. The rehab project included archeology work by the University of Maryland, painstakingly saving windows including the original antique glass, and disassembling and reassembling the porch to save the original materials. 13,000 hours of work later, the finished product is a masterpiece of historic preservation.


Elisha Tyson House (2010)

Elisha Tyson House (2010)

Exterior view of the Elisha Tyson House. | Source: Baltimore Heritage View File Details Page

Elisha Tyson's Grave

Elisha Tyson's Grave

Elisha Tyson's remains were relocated from the Friends Cemetery on Aisquith to Green Mount Cemetery in 1906. | Source: Monument City | Creator: Bryson Dudley View File Details Page

Street Address:

732 Pacific Street, Baltimore, MD 21211 [map]

Cite this Page:

Johns Hopkins, “Elisha Tyson's Falls Road House,” Explore Baltimore Heritage, accessed June 26, 2017, http://explore.baltimoreheritage.org/items/show/230.
Tour navigation:  Previous | Tour Info | Next
comments powered by Disqus

Share this Story