Corpus Christi Church

A Mount Royal Landmark by architect Patrick Keeley

Corpus Christi Memorial Church was built in 1891 in memory of Thomas and Louisa Jenkins by their children. Their goal was to build the most exquisite church in Baltimore. Patrick Keeley, the foremost architect of Catholic churches in his day, designed the building.

The interior, designed by John Hardman & Company of London, glitters and glows with colorful mosaics accented with gold tessera, stained glass windows, and a high vaulted ceiling with clerestory windows. Famous for its large Florentine style mosaics adorning the chancel, Corpus Christi also has smaller mosaic Stations of the Cross as well as a charming mosaic depicting the founding of Maryland. There are four chapels and a baptistery that boast gold mosaic ceilings, marble walls, statues of saints, and stained glass windows.

Images

Corpus Christi Church (c. 1893)

Corpus Christi Church (c. 1893)

View of Jenkins Memorial Church, as it was originally known, at Mount Royal and Lafayette Avenues. | Source: Hughes Company Glass Negatives, The Photography Collections, University of Maryland, Baltimore County, P75-54-N109g View File Details Page

Group Portrait at Corpus Christi (1923)

Group Portrait at Corpus Christi (1923)

Photograph of graduates of the school at Corpus Christi Church. | Source: Hughes Company Glass Negatives, The Photography Collections, University of Maryland, Baltimore County, P75-54-A266g View File Details Page

Street Address:

110 W. Lafayette Avenue, Baltimore, MD 21217 [map]

Official Website:

Corpus Christi Church

Cite this Page:

“Corpus Christi Church,” Explore Baltimore Heritage, accessed July 27, 2017, http://explore.baltimoreheritage.org/items/show/353.
Tour navigation:  Previous | Tour Info | Next
comments powered by Disqus

Share this Story